Purcell and Handel

Saturday 24 September, 7.45 pm

Samobor, Croatia

Henry Purcell: from ‘Dido and Aeneas’
Overture in G minor (possibly the overture to the Prologue of ‘Dido and Aeneas’)
‘Ah! Belinda, I am prest with torment’
‘Peace and I are strangers grown’
Act 2: Ritournelle
‘Oft she visits this lone mountain’
Chacony in G minor
Dido’s lament

Georg Friederich Handel: from ‘Rinaldo’
Act 3: Sinfonia
‘Lascia ch’io pianga’
‘Furie terribili’
‘Cara sposa’
‘Venti turbini’

(Renata Pokupic mezzo soprano, Nicolette Moonen & Rodolfo Richter violin, Rachel Stott viola, Alison McGillivray cello, Alastair Ross harpsichord)