A European Christmas

Medium european christmas

Thursday 28 November, 7.30 pm

The Octagon Chapel, Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN

The concert is a celebration of Advent and Christmas. In the first half we present music from the Austro-Italian seventeenth-century Catholic tradition. We move from the Annunciation to the birth of Jesus, with the focus on Mary and the baby Jesus. Then, after the interval, we pass on to the eighteenth-century Lutheran tradition in Germany. We play two cantatas by J.S. Bach: ‘Schwingt freudig euch empor’, composed for the first Sunday in Advent, and ‘Selig ist der Mann’, composed for second Christmas day. The focus of the texts is now on the Christian believer.

The music

Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber (1644–1704): The Annunciation, from the Rosary Sonatas

Tarquinio Merula (1595–1665): Canzonetta Spirituale sopra alla nanna

Andrea Gabrieli (1532–85) Pass’e mezzo antico

Giacomo Carissimi (1605–74) ‘Salve salve puellule’

Arcangelo Corelli (1653–1713): Concerto Grosso in G minor, op. 6, no. 8 [‘Christmas concerto’]

J.S. Bach (1685–1750): Cantata for the first Sunday in Advent, second part: ‘Schwingt freudig euch empor’, BWV 36

J.S. Bach: Cantata for the second day of Christmas ‘Selig ist der Mann’, BWV 57

The musicians

(Rachel Elliott soprano, Matthew Brook bass, Nicolette Moonen violin and director, Anna Curzon violin, Anne Schumann viola, Olaf Reimers cello, Silas Wollston organ)

Booking tickets

To book tickets, go here

Tickets can also be bought from St George’s Music Shop, 17–19 St George’s Street, Norwich NR3 1AB (telephone: 01603 626414)