Stabat Mater

Medium stabat mater 2017

Thursday 9 March, 7.30 pm

The Octagon Chapel, Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN

In praise of the Virgin Mary: Pergolesi’s setting of the Stabat Mater text, the Concerto Madrigalesco by Vivaldi and one of his Sonatas al Santo Sepolcro, and a Mystery Sonata by Biber

The music

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710–36): ‘Stabat Mater’

Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741): Concerto Madrigalesco in C minor

Antonio Vivaldi: Sinfonia al Santo Sepolcro in C minor

Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber (1644–1704): Rosary Sonata 10, ‘The Crucifixion’

The musicians

(Rachel Elliott soprano, Catherine King mezzo soprano, Nicolette Moonen violin, Anna Curzon violin, Rachel Stott viola, Kinga Gáborjáni cello, Pawel Siwczak organ)

Booking tickets

To book tickets, go here

Tickets can also be bought from St George’s Music Shop, 17–19 St George’s Street, Norwich NR3 1AB (telephone: 01603 626414)