Reviews archive

Medium hpm010 cover

‘Sleepers awake!’ reviewed in Klassieke Zaken

February 2017 – Reviews

Marcel Bijlo reviewed our CD ‘Sleepers awake!’ in Klassieke Zaken. He writes as follows (in our translation from his Dutch text):

Medium hpm010 cover

‘Sleepers awake!’ reviewed in Early Music Review

January 2017 – Reviews

David Stancliffe reviewed our CD ‘Sleepers awake!’ in Early Music Review, giving it 4.5 stars overall (out of 5 stars). He writes as follows:

Medium hpm010 cover

‘Sleepers awake!’ reviewed on ‘Record Review’

January 2017 – Reviews

Andrew McGregor reviewed our CD ‘Sleeper’s awake!’ for BBC Radio 3’s Record Review:

Medium hpm010 cover

‘Sleepers awake!’ reviewed in Gramophone

January 2017 – Reviews

Lindsay Kemp reviewed our CD ‘Sleepers awake!’ in Gramophone.

Medium coffee and cabbage

‘Coffee and Cabbage’ reviewed in Early Music Today

November 2016 – Reviews

Rick Jones wrote about our concert at St John’s Downshire Hill, 8 October 2016, for Early Music Today

Medium coffee and cabbage

Bach Players: Octagon Chapel, Norwich

October 2016 – Reviews

Frank Cliff wrote about our Octagon Chapel concert, 6 October 2016, for the Eastern Daily Press

Medium hpm009 cover

‘Venice to Hamburg’ reviewed on MusicWeb International

August 2016 – Reviews

Johan van Veen reviewed our CD ‘Venice to Hamburg’ for the MusicWeb International website

Medium hpm009 cover

‘Venice to Hamburg’ reviewed on Concertzender

June 2016 – Reviews

Kees Koudstaal is a CD-shop owner, concert promoter, and now has a radio programme on the Concertzender radio channel. On 5 June he played a track from our ‘Venice to London’ CD. He also tells the story of how he got to know about The Bach Players. Listen here (from 44:38).

Medium hpm009 cover

‘Venice to Hamburg’ reviewed on Music Frames

June 2016 – Reviews

Mattie Poels reviewed our CD ‘Venice to Hamburg’ on his blog Music Frames

Medium hpm009 cover

‘Venice to Hamburg’ reviewed in Early Music Today

June 2016 – Reviews

Nicholas Anderson reviewed (with five stars) our CD ‘Venice to Hamburg’ for Early Music Today.

Medium laments duo

The Bach Players at The Octagon Chapel

April 2016 – Reviews

Christopher Smith wrote about our Octagon Chapel concert, 3 March 2016, for the Eastern Daily Press.

Medium hpm009 cover

‘Venice to Hamburg’ reviewed in Early Music Review

April 2016 – Reviews

The first review of ‘Venice to Hamburg’ has just been published, in Early Music Review. D. James Ross gave five stars to every aspect of the CD. He writes as follows:

Medium hpm008 cover

‘Bach and his rivals’ reviewed in Early Music Today

November 2015 – Reviews

Adrian Horsewood reviewed our CD ‘Bach and his rivals’ for Early Music Today. He gave it five stars out of five.

Medium hpm008 cover

‘Bach and his rivals’ reviewed in the Netherlands

September 2015 – Reviews

Thanks to the work of our distributor New Arts International, we have been receiving more reviews of our CDs in the Netherlands.

Medium early music may 2015

French chamber music

September 2015 – Reviews

In a review round-up in the journal ‘Early Music’, with the title ‘French chamber music’, Graham Sadler wrote about two of our CDs of French music.

Medium opusklassiek 201305

Review of our first four CDs

September 2015 – Reviews

We have just caught up with this review of our first four CDs on the Dutch Opus Klassiek website, by Siebe Riedstra. He really gets what we have been aiming for with our recordings. We give an English translation below.

Medium jacquetdelaguerre 2015

The Bach Players at Hatchlands

June 2015 – Reviews

David Hansell wrote about our Hatchlands concert, 7 May 2015, for Early Music Review.

Medium jacquetdelaguerre 2015

London's Baroque Festival highlights the music of Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre

May 2015 – Reviews

Nahoko Gotoh has reviewed our Jacquet de La Guerre concert.

Medium concerto 201305 cover sm

The Bach Players reviewed in ‘Concerto’

February 2015 – Reviews

Thumbing through old reviews, we found this short retrospective piece from 2013 in ‘Concerto’, the authoritative Early Music magazine published from Cologne. The review by Bernd Heyder, one of ’Concerto’’s co-editors, was prompted by our Pachelbel and Bach CD, and looks back to the two earlier CDs that we based on Bach’s cantatas: Every one a chaconne and Nun komm!. Our newest CD, Bach and his rivals, now joins this sequence.

Medium hpm007 cover

‘An Italian in Paris’ reviewed in Early Music Today

November 2014 – Reviews

Nicholas Anderson reviewed our CD ‘An Italian in Paris’ for Early Music Today. He gave it five stars out of five, and the disc is also named as the editor’s choice for this issue.

Medium hpm006 cover

‘Bach's library’ reviewed in Early Music Today

November 2014 – Reviews

Nicholas Anderson reviewed our CD ’Bach’s library’ for Early Music Today. He gave it five stars out of five.

Medium hpm007 cover

‘An Italian in Paris’ reviewed in International Record Review

October 2014 – Reviews

Christopher Price reviewed our CD ‘An Italian in Paris’ for International Record Review.

Medium hpm007 cover

‘An Italian in Paris’ reviewed in Early Music Review

May 2014 – Reviews

Noel O’Regan reviewed our CD ‘An Italian in Paris’ for Early Music Review.

Medium hpm006 cover

Bach’s library / BBC Radio 3: CD Review

April 2014 – Reviews

Our CD ’Bach’s library’ was reviewed on BBC Radio 3’s CD Review last Saturday morning.

Medium hpm006 cover

‘Bach’s library’ reviewed in Gramophone

May 2013 – Reviews

Lindsay Kemp reviewed our CD ‘Bach’s library’ for Gramophone.

Medium hpm006 cover

‘Bach’s library’ reviewed on CD Review

April 2013 – Reviews

Andrew McGregor reviewed our CD ‘Bach’s library’ for BBC Radio 3’s CD Review.

Medium hpm006 cover

‘Bach’s library’ reviewed in Early Music Review

April 2013 – Reviews

David Hansell reviewed our CD ‘Bach’s library’ for Early Music Review.

Medium hpm005 cover

‘Pachelbel and Bach’ reviewed in Luister

August 2012 – Reviews

Gerard Scheltens has reviewed our CD ‘Pachelbel and Bach’ for Luister magazine. His review came with a maximum of ten stars: five for the quality of performance and five for the quality of recording .

Medium hpm005 cover

‘Pachelbel and Bach’ reviewed in Early Music Today

June 2012 – Reviews

Adrian Horsewood has reviewed our CD ‘Pachelbel and Bach’ for Early Music Today.

Medium hpm005 cover

‘Pachelbel and Bach’ reviewed in IRR

June 2012 – Reviews

Nicholas Anderson has reviewed our CD ‘Pachelbel and Bach’ for International Record Review.

Medium leonhardt small

The Bach Players give moving tribute to Gustav Leonhardt

April 2012 – Reviews

Nahoko Gotoh has reviewed our Leonhardt memorial concert.

Medium hpm004 cover

‘Italy versus France’ reviewed on Muse Baroque

June 2011 – Reviews

Sébastien Holzbauer has reviewed our CD ‘Italy versus France’ for the Muse Baroque website.

Medium hpm004 cover

‘Italy versus France’ reviewed in IRR

May 2011 – Reviews

Simon Heighes has reviewed our CD ‘Italy versus France’ for International Record Review.

Medium hpm003 cover irr

‘Nun komm!’ reviewed in Early Music

April 2011 – Reviews

David Black reviewed our CD ‘Nun komm!’ for Early Music.

Medium hpm003 cover irr

‘Nun komm!’ reviewed in Gramophone

December 2010 – Reviews

Richard Lawrence has reviewed our CD ‘Nun komm!’ for Gramophone.

Pachelbel and Bach in Norwich and London

December 2010 – Reviews

These reviews by Clifford Bartlett and Hugh Keyte, of our ‘Pachelbel and Bach’ (part 1) concerts in Norwich and London, are among the most perceptive as well as appreciative that we have had. They show the gains that can come when performances of the same music in two venues are compared, and when two different critics bring their different sensibilities and experiences to bear on the matter.

Medium hpm003 cover irr

‘Nun komm!’ reviewed in IRR

November 2010 – Reviews

Marc Rochester reviewed our CD ‘Nun komm!’ for International Record Review.

Medium hpm002 cover

‘Every one a chaconne’ reviewed in Classic FM magagazine

January 2010 – Reviews

A.S. has reviewed our CD ‘Every one a chaconne’ for Classic FM magazine.

‘Nun komm!’ in Norwich reviewed on Bright Cecilia

November 2009 – Reviews

The Bright Cecilia forum has published a vivid review of our Norwich concert.

‘Rendezvous in Vienna’ in Norwich

September 2009 – Reviews

This review of our Norwich concert, September 2009, was published in the Eastern Daily Press.

Medium hpm001 cover

‘Bach arranging and arranged’ reviewed in Classic FM magazine

February 2009 – Reviews

R.J. has reviewed our CD ‘Bach arranging and arranged’ for Classic FM magazine.

Medium hpm001 cover

‘Bach arranging and arranged’ reviewed in IRR

February 2009 – Reviews

Nicholas Anderson reviewed our CD ‘Bach arranging and arranged’ for International Record Review.

London concerts

February 2008 – Reviews

Andrew Benson-Wilson wrote about our London concert, November 2007, for Early Music Review.

Bach to basics on fine night of music

December 2005 – Reviews

Martin Dreyer’s review of our York concert, December 2005, was published in the Birmingham Post.

Warwick Early Music Showcase

December 2004 – Reviews

Andrew Benson-Wilson wrote about our Warwick concert, September 2004, for Early Music Review.

Bach and friends

May 2004 – Reviews

Andrew Benson-Wilson wrote about our London concert, March 2004, for Early Music Review.

Riches galore from J.S. Bach

April 2004 – Reviews

Christopher Morley’s review of our Birmingham concert, March 2004, was published in the Birmingham Post.

Bach as a twenty-something

March 2004 – Reviews

Roderic Dunnett’s review of our Birmingham concert, March 2004, was published in the Church Times.

Early music review

December 1999 – Reviews

This review of our London concert, November 1999, was published in Early Music Review

Bachs Passion als ‘work in progress’

July 1999 – Reviews

This review of our St John Passion in Berlin was published in the Berliner Morgenpost, 6 July 1999.

Die Kirche im Dorf

July 1999 – Reviews

This review of our St John Passion in Berlin was published in the Die Welt, 5 July 1999.

London music

July 1998 – Reviews

Andrew Benson-Wilson wrote about our London concert, May 1998, for Early Music Review.