All Bach

Tuesday 26 January 2021, 5.00pm

Leamington Music: St Mary’s Church, Old Square, Warwick CV34 4RA

We return to the music of J.S. Bach in two concerts of about an hour each. At 5 pm we play two of Bach’s great works that feature the flute: the B minor Orchestral Suite and the fifth Brandenburg Concerto. These are complemented by the Canons from the Goldberg Variations, played in an orchestration by Silas Wollston. Then at 7.30 pm we open with fugues from the Art of Fugue, and then play one of Bach’s masterworks, his Musical Offering. This performance treats the work as an essay in the musical rhetoric in which Bach was immersed, with each section following in coherent succession. It will be a chance to hear this famous work with fresh ears.

>>> As a precaution against spreading Covid-19, this concert has been cancelled

The music

5 pm

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):

Orchestral Suite no. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067

Canons from the Goldberg Variations, BWV 1087

Brandenburg Concerto no. 5, BWV 1050


7.30 pm

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

The Art of Fugue, nos. 1–4, BWV 1080

The Musical Offering, BWV 1079

The musicians

Marion Moonen flute, Nicolette Moonen violin, Oliver Webber violin, tbc viola, Kinga Gáborjáni cello, Reiko Ichise viola da gamba, Silas Wollston harpsichord

© 2024 The Bach Players