All Bach

Wednesday 21 July 2021, 3.00pm

Haddo House, Methlick, Ellon, Aberdeenshire AB41 7EQ

For our first concerts since March 2020 and the eruption here of the Covid pandemic, we return to the music of J.S. Bach. Substantial pieces that feature the flute open and close the concert: the B minor Orchestral Suite and the fifth Brandenburg Concerto. These great works are complemented by two arrangements of music from his keyboard masterpieces: Canons from the Goldberg Variations, and a selection of Fugues from the Art of Fugue.

The music

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):

Suite in B minor for flute and strings, BWV 1067

Canons from the Goldberg Variations, BWV 1087 (arranged by Silas Wollston)

The Art of Fugue, nos. 1–4, BWV 1080

Brandenburg concerto no. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

The musicians

Rachel Brown flute, Nicolette Moonen violin, Jean Paterson violin, Rachel Stott viola, Kinga Gáborjáni cello, Silas Wollston harpsichord

© 2024 The Bach Players