Biber: the Sorrowful Mysteries

Friday 10 February 2023, 7.30pm

Laidlaw Music Centre, University of St Andrews, Queen’s Terrace, St Andrews KY16 9QF

Nicolette Moonen and Pawel Siwczak perform the second cycle of H.I.F. Biber’s Rosary or Mystery sonatas. This cycle is concerned with the death of Christ and the events that surrounded it. In the three central sonatas Ricardo Barros dances as a third partner in the music.

The music

Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber (1644–1704):
Rosary sonatas – the Sorrowful Mysteries
The Agony in the Garden
The Scourging of Jesus
The Crowning with Thorns
The Carrying of the Cross
The Crucifixion

The musicians

Ricardo Barros choreography & dance, Nicolette Moonen violin, Pawel Siwczak chamber organ & harpsichord

© 2024 The Bach Players