Coffee and cabbage

Sunday 9 October 2016, 5.00pm

Saxon Shore Early Music: St Mary’s Church, Kenardington, Kent TN26 2NF

Two of J.S. Bach’s loved secular cantatas – essentially small-scale operas for soprano and bass voices – are given in the context of his fifth Brandenburg Concerto and canons from the Goldberg Variations

The music

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):

Brandenburg Concerto no. 5, BWV 1050

Coffee Cantata (‘Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht’), BWV 211

Canons from the Goldberg Variations, BWV 1087

Peasant Cantata (‘Mer hahn en neue Oberkeet’), BWV 212

The musicians

(Rachel Elliott soprano, Matthew Brook bass, Marion Moonen flute, Nicolette Moonen violin, Oliver Webber violin, Rachel Stott viola, Luise Buchberger cello, Silas Wollston harpsichord)

© 2024 The Bach Players