Pachelbel and Bach: canons and cantatas [2]

Thursday 17 November 2011, 7.30pm

The Octagon Chapel, Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN

A second selection of music by Johann Sebastian Bach and his predecessor Johann Pachelbel (following the concerts in November 2010)

The music

Johann Pachelbel:
Cantata ‘Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan’
Partie à 5
Sacred concerto ‘Christ ist erstanden’

Johann Sebastian Bach:
Cantata ‘Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Glücke’, BWV 84
Canons from the Musical Offering, BWV 1079
Cantata ‘Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan’, BWV 99

The musicians

(Rachel Elliott soprano, Sally Bruce-Payne alto, James Gilchrist tenor, Matthew Brook bass, Marion Moonen flute, James Eastaway oboe, Alastair Mitchell bassoon, Nicolette Moonen violin / director, Rachel Isserlis & Stephen Pedder violin, Rachel Stott viola, Piroska Baranyay cello, Silas Wollston organ / harpsichord)

© 2024 The Bach Players