Sleepers awake!

Saturday 8 November 2014, 8.15pm

St John’s Downshire Hill, Hampstead, London NW3 1NU

The Advent cantata ‘Wachet auf’ in the setting by J.S. Bach (BWV 140) and two versions by Dieterich Buxtehude, and chamber music by Buxtehude and Erlebach

The music

Dieterich Buxtehude (c. 1637–1707): Cantata ‘Wachet auf!’, BuxWV 101
Dieterich Buxtehude: Sonata in C major for two violins, viola da gamba and basso continuo, BuxWV 266
Dieterich Buxtehude: Sacred concerto ‘Quemadmodum desiderat cervus’, for tenor, two violins and basso continuo, BuxWV 92
Dieterich Buxtehude: Cantata ‘Wachet auf!’, BuxWV 100
Philipp Heinrich Erlebach (1657–1714): Sonata no. 6 in F major for violino piccolo, viola da gamba and basso continuo
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750): Cantata ‘Wachet auf!’, BWV 140

The musicians

(Rachel Elliott soprano, Sally Bruce-Payne alto, Samuel Boden tenor, Jonathan Gunthorpe bass, Nicolette Moonen violin, Anne Schumann violin, Oliver Webber violin, Catherine Weiss violin, James Eastaway oboe, Mark Radcliffe oboe, Richard Earle oboe, Alastair Mitchell bassoon, Reiko Ichise viola da gamba, Olaf Reimers cello, Pawel Siwczak harpsichord / organ)

© 2024 The Bach Players