Sound the trumpet!

Saturday 7 October 2017, 7.30pm

St John’s Downshire Hill, Hampstead, London NW3 1NU

To mark our twentieth anniversary, we return to our beginnings to present an all-Bach programme: two joyous, well-known cantatas, complemented by two celebrated instrumental works. ‘Weichet nur betrübte Schatten’ is a wedding canata for solo soprano voice; ‘Jauchzet Gott’ gives virtuosic parts to solo soprano and trumpet. The trumpet is featured also in Brandenburg Concerto no. 2. We will also play selections from the Art of Fugue. This will be a special, celebratory event – with extra features to be revealed on the night.

The music

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750):

Brandenburg Concerto no. 2, BWV1047

Cantata ‘Weichet nur betrübte Schatten’, BWV202

a selection of fugues from the Art of Fugue, BWV1080

Cantata ‘Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen’, BWV 51

The musicians

(Rachel Elliott soprano, Adrian Woodward trumpet, James Eastaway oboe, Inga Maria Klaucke bassoon / recorder, Nicolette Moonen violin / director, Oliver Webber violin, Sarah Walsh violin, Rachel Stott viola, Olaf Reimers cello, Silas Wollston organ / harpsichord)

© 2024 The Bach Players