Stabat Mater

Saturday 7 March 2020, 7.30pm

St Dominic’s Priory, Southampton Road, London NW5 4LB

Pergolesi’s setting of the Stabat Mater text was hugely popular and remains so – it is often thought of as ‘the’ version of the Stabat Mater. The concert also includes the Sinfonia and Sonata al Santo Sepolcro by Vivaldi – his only sacred instrumental pieces. These deeply affecting works enhance the drama of the Stabat Mater. The concert will run without an interval and will take place in the intimate setting of the church’s Lady Chapel.
After the concert, the friars invite you for drinks (included in the price of the ticket), and there will be time to look at the wonderful interior architecture of St Dominic’s.

The music

Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741): Sinfonia al Santo Sepolcro

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710–36): ‘Stabat Mater’

Antonio Vivaldi: Sonata al Santo Sepolcro

The musicians

Jessica Cale soprano, Helen Charlston mezzo soprano, Nicolette Moonen violin, Anna Curzon violin, Rachel Stott viola, Kinga Gáborjáni cello, Pawel Siwczak organ

© 2024 The Bach Players